Best Student Paper Award and Special Award at ECMS’16

During the anniversial 30th European Conference on Modelling and Simulation (ECMS) 2016 in Regensburg, Germany on 31 May — 3 June, SoftICE members Robin T. Bye, Ottar L. Osen, and Ibrahim A. Hameed presented some of our latest research reported in four scientific papers accepted in the Simulators for Virtual Prototyping and Training track, which was chaired by colleagues at NTNU Ottar L. Osen, Robin T. Bye, and Henrique Gaspar (who unfortunately could not attend this time). The papers were co-authored by the three abovementioned researchers together with colleagues Hans Georg Schaathun and Birger Skogeng Pedersen (NTNU in Ålesund), Adrian Rutle (University College of Bergen), Filippo Sanfilippo (NTNU in Trondheim), and bachelor graduates Rolf-Magnus Hjørungdal (NTNU in Ålesund) and Tom Verplaetse (Ghent University).

Best Student Paper Award

All four papers were reviewed by three reviewers and received excellent reviews. One paper,“Intelligent computer-automated crane design using an online crane prototyping tool” by Ibrahim A. Hameed, Ottar L. Osen, Robin T. Bye, Birger Skogeng Pedersen, and Hans Georg Schaathun, was nominated for the Best Paper Award but did not make it to the top.

However, another paper, “On Usage of EEG Brain Control for Rehabilitation of Stroke Patients” by Tom Verplaetse, Filippo Sanfilippo, Adrian Rutle, Ottar L. Osen, and Robin T. Bye, was nominated for both the Best Paper Award and the Best Student Paper Award, and managed to win the latter! A big congratulation to first author Tom Verplaetse (currently a master in engineering student at Ghent University), who completed the project as his bachelor thesis in automation engineering at NTNU in Ålesund spring 2015! The award was received by Robin T. Bye as Tom was busy with his exams during the conference.


Proud delegation from NTNU in Ålesund with Best Student Paper Award.


Best Student Paper Award certificate.

Special Award

Being a 30th anniversary jubilee conference, the board of the European Council of Modelling and Simulation decided to honour a number of people,including SoftICE member Robin T. Bye, with a Special Award for their contributions to ECMS over the years. Associate Professor Bye humbly accepted the award, which was presented at the conference dinner cruise on the river Donau aboard the luxurious ship Kristallkönigin. Dr. Bye received the award for his contributions as a previous board member of ECMS (2012-14), conference co-chair and programme chair of ECMS ’13 hosted by Aalesund University College (2013), and track chair activities (2012-16).


30th anniversary ECMS Special Award winners.


Special Award prize.


Proud SoftICE delegation with Special Award.

More information

More details about the work, as well as links for downloading papers, abstracts, and presentations can be found in earlier blog posts:


Some photos from the conference can be found on the website of the local organisers.

Here are some highlights we shot ourselves.

Conference dinner cruise on river Donau


Local ECMS’16 organisers: conference chair Frank Herrmann and programme chair Michael Manitz.


Ottar L. Osen and Special Award winner Joanna Kolodziej.

DSC_0158_3 DSC_0161_3 DSC_0162_2



Presentation by Robin T. Bye.




Beautiful OTH campus.




Conference Trip to Weltenburger Kloster








Deutsches Museum


Mechanical proportional controller.


DSC_0109_3    DSC_0088_6  DSC_0085

DSC_0086DSC_0112   DSC_0087  DSC_0094_6 DSC_0102_2 DSC_0092_5


DSC_0111DSC_0104 DSC_0106   DSC_0103_3      DSC_0107_2 DSC_0105_4


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s